Scholarship | Olmsted Scholars Program

Nomination & Selection Process

2018 Olmsted Scholars Timeline

November 2017
Call for Nominations announced

Feb 15, 2018
Deadline for Nominations from faculty

Mar 15, 2018
Deadline for Full Submissions from faculty/nominees

April 2018
Jury selects National Olmsted Scholars and Finalists

May 2018
2018 Olmsted Scholars announced

Oct 18-19, 2018
Olmsted Scholar luncheon and ceremony at LAF Annual Benefit in Philadelphia


The Olmsted Scholars Program recognizes outstanding student leaders from each accredited landscape architecture program in the U.S. and Canada. Olmsted Scholars are nominated by the faculty from each university. Students do not apply directly to the Olmsted Scholars Program.

Step 1: Nominations from Faculty

Each university may nominate one student from each of its LAAB-accredited* landscape architecture programs (undergraduate and/or graduate). Eligible students are graduate students or undergraduates currently in their fourth or fifth year, who have made a commitment to the landscape architecture profession.

The nominee is recognized as a University Olmsted Scholar and competes for one of the national awards. For graduate students, the jury-selected National Olmsted Scholar receives $25,000, and three finalists receive $5,000 each. For undergraduate students, the National Olmsted Scholar receives $15,000, and three finalists receive $3,000 each.

To nominate a student, a faculty member must e-mail a completed Nomination Form to from their university account. The form requires the signature of the department chair attesting that 1) the faculty as a whole supports the nomination(s), and 2) the student(s) have been notified and accept their nomination(s). Nominations are due by Feb 15.

*LAAC-accredited for Canadian schools

Step 2: Full Submissions from Faculty/Nominees

LAF must receive a complete Nominee Submission Packet in order for the nominee to be eligible for the Olmsted Scholar award and recognition. This packet includes items to be completed by the nominating faculty and the nominee. All nominees with complete submissions will be recognized as University Olmsted Scholars. Nominee Submission Packets are due by Mar 15.

Step 3: Selection by Jury

The graduate and undergraduate National Olmsted Scholars and up to 6 Finalists are selected by an independent jury of leaders in the landscape architecture profession. Candidates are evaluated on their past achievements and their future potential to influence the landscape architecture profession. Criteria for selection include the candidate’s leadership potential in (1) the advancement of sustainable planning and design, and (2) fostering human and societal benefits, as assessed through the candidate’s demonstration of:

  • leadership and vision
  • engagement with current issues
  • critical thinking
  • communication skill
  • personal characteristics and values

Recognition and Benefits for Olmsted Scholars

National Olmsted Scholar
   -  $25,000 award (graduate student)
   -  $15,000 award (undergraduate)
   -  Ongoing recognition through use of title: “2018 National Olmsted Scholar”

National Olmsted Scholar Finalists
   -  $5,000 award (graduate student)
   -  $3,000 award (undergraduate)
   -  Ongoing recognition through use of title: “2018 National Olmsted Scholar Finalist”

University Olmsted Scholars (for all nominees)
   -  2 complimentary tickets to the LAF Annual Benefit on October 19, 2018 in Philadelphia*
   -  Publicity and recognition through LAF website, outreach materials, and announcements and
      articles in landscape architecture publications
   -  Opportunity to network with other Olmsted Scholars, LAF Board members and sponsors
      during a private luncheon on October 18, 2018 in Philadelphia*
   -  Networking and mentoring opportunities through the growing community of past and present
      Olmsted Scholars
   -  Ongoing recognition through use of title: “2018 University Olmsted Scholar”

      *Attendance required for National Olmsted Scholars and Finalists