Olmsted Scholars Program

2016 Olmsted Scholars Timeline

Dec 2015
Call for Nominations announced

Feb 15, 2016
Deadline for Nominations from faculty

Mar 15, 2016
Deadline for Full Submissions from faculty/nominees

April 2016
Jury selects National Olmsted Scholars and Finalists

May 2016
2016 Olmsted Scholars announced

Oct 20-21, 2016
Olmsted Scholar luncheon and ceremony at LAF Annual Benefit in New Orleans



“The ideas, projects, and commitments are so powerful. These young designers are opening up the dialogue on current issues that this generation and the landscape architecture profession will need to address.”

    — Susan Szenasy, Hon. ASLA
         Olmsted Scholars Program Juror


Olmsted Scholars ProgramOlmsted Scholars ProgramOlmsted Scholars ProgramOlmsted Scholars ProgramOlmsted Scholars ProgramOlmsted Scholars Program

LAF’s Olmsted Scholars Program recognizes and supports students with exceptional leadership potential who are using ideas, influence, communication, service, and leadership to advance sustainable design and foster human and societal benefits.

Named for Frederick Law Olmsted, the father of American landscape architecture, the Olmsted Scholars Program with its $25,000 graduate and $15,000 undergraduate prize is the premier national award program for landscape architecture students. Now in its ninth year, the program recognizes one outstanding student from each accredited landscape architecture program in the U.S. and Canada, along with the jury-selected graduate and undergraduate national award winners and finalists. Students are both honored for past achievements and recognized for their future potential to influence the landscape architecture profession.

These future leaders of the profession join a growing community of nearly 500 past and present Olmsted Scholars. The prestige and publicity associated with the award serve to promote the significance of the landscape architecture profession and help attract inspired and motivated leaders.

Learn more about the Olmsted Scholar Nomination and Selection Process.

See the 2016 Olmsted Scholars.

2016 National Scholars

cox-azzurra-photo-78x88Azzurra Cox
Harvard Graduate School of Design


howard-casey-photo-78x88Casey Howard
University of Oregon

Read More