News & Events | LAF News Blog

LAF News

Stay up to date on LAF!

Subscribe to RSS Feed

2018 LAF Medal and Founders' Award

With great pleasure and admiration, the Landscape Architecture Foundation (LAF) announces the 2018 recipients of its LAF Medal and Founders’ Award. Launched in 2016 for the foundation’s 50th anniversary, these two annual awards honor individuals and firms/organizations that have made a significant and sustained contribution to the LAF mission of supporting the preservation, improvement and enhancement of the environment.

LAF Medal


The LAF Medal is conveyed to a landscape architect for distinguished work over a career in applying the principles of sustainability to landscapes. The 2018 LAF Medal goes to Carol Franklin, FASLA, PLA.

“Carol Franklin exemplifies career-long passion and leadership in promoting ecological awareness and sustainability. In addition to her award-winning work as a founding member of Andropogon, she taught at PennDesign for over 30 years, seeding the next generation with those values,” said Awards Committee Chair Dennis Carmichael, FASLA.

LAF Founders’ Award

The LAF Founders’ Award is conveyed to a firm, agency, or organization that demonstrates a significant commitment to preserving, creating, or enhancing landscapes over a sustained period of time. The 2018 LAF Founders’ Award goes to The Trust for Public Land.tpl-logo-226x230

“For over 35 years, the Trust for Public Land has worked to protect land for people, emphasizing the value of designed and natural spaces for our increasingly urban population. TPL’s mission and values align closely with those of landscape architects, and their efforts have had positive impacts for tens of millions of Americans,” said Carmichael on behalf of the Awards Committee.

The awards will be presented to Carol Franklin and The Trust for Public Land the 2018 LAF Awards Dinner on May 17 in Washington, D.C.

The LAF Board Emeritus Council manages the nomination and selection process for the awards. Members of the 2018 Award Committee were:

  • Dennis Carmichael, FASLA, Parker Rodriguez, Chair
  • Chip Crawford, FASLA, Forum Studio
  • Chris Dimond, FASLA, AICP, PWP Landscape Architecture
  • Richard Hawks, FASLA, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry
  • Len Hopper, FASLA, Weintraub Diaz Landscape Architecture
  • Ginger Murphy, ASLA, U.S. Department of Agriculture
  1. Bob MeyersApr 4th, 2018 10:46pm
    Bob Meyers said:

    Please tell Carol CONGRATULATIONS! from former classmate Bob Meyers.

Leave Your Comment

Subscribe to an RSS Feed for this post's comments, and find out when someone responds.