News & Events | LAF News Blog

LAF News

Stay up to date on LAF!

Subscribe to RSS Feed

2010 National Olmsted Scholar and Finalists

emilyvogler09benefitEmily Vogler, a graduate student at the University of Pennsylvania, has been selected as the 2010 National Olmsted Scholar and recipient of the $25,000 award.  Emily will receive her Master of Landscape Architecture degree in May and plans to use the award to conduct research and provoke public conversation on sustainable regionalism, using the five pillars of water, energy, economy, ecology and community. She was a National Olmsted Scholar Finalist in 2009.

Also honored are this year’s five national finalists:

  • David Godshall, University of California, Berkeley
  • Lauren Hackney, University of Virginia
  • Christopher Hardy, Cornell University
  • Caitlin Harrigan, University of British Columbia
  • Amanda Jeter, University of Colorado, Denver

An independent jury of leaders in the landscape architecture profession selected the award winner and finalists from a group of 38 graduate and undergraduate students who were nominated by their faculty for being student leaders in sustainable design and planning. These top students earned the designation of 2010 University Olmsted Scholars.

The 2010 jury members were Susan Szenasy, Editor-in-Chief, Metropolis Magazine; Mark Dawson, ASLA, Principal, Sasaki Associates, Inc.; Forster Ndubisi, ASLA, Professor and Department Head, Landscape Architecture and Urban Planning, Texas A&M University; Teresa Durkin, ASLA, Vice President and Senior Landscape Architect, HOK; Jonathan Mueller, FASLA, ASLA President-Elect, Senior Landscape Architect at Landmark/Architects West, Inc.; Skip Graffam, ASLA, Partner/Director of Research, OLIN; and David Malda, 2009 National Olmsted Scholar.

The Olmsted Scholars Program was launched in 2008 to honor the work of today’s student leaders in sustainable design and planning.  Past National Olmsted Scholars are Andrea Gaffney from the University of California, Berkeley (2008) and David Malda from the University of Virginia (2009). 

Leave Your Comment

Subscribe to an RSS Feed for this post's comments, and find out when someone responds.