LAF Medal and Founders’ Award

2016-laf-award-recipients-226w2016 recipients: ASLA’s Nancy Somerville and Grant Jones, FASLA


laf-medal-226w2017 LAF Medal recipient Cornelia Hahn Oberlander (with colleague Virginia Burt)


Through two annual awards, the Landscape Architecture Foundation (LAF) honors those individuals and firms/organizations that have made a significant and sustained contribution to the LAF mission of supporting the preservation, improvement and enhancement of the environment.


LAF Medal

This award is conveyed to a landscape architect for distinguished work over a career in applying the principles of sustainability to landscapes. The award may recognize academic research and publication; public practice and policy; or private practice in built or designed landscapes. The honoree exemplifies the ethics of LAF and demonstrates a significant advancement of the profession with a clear and demonstrable focus on sustainability in landscape architecture.

2018 Recipient: Carol Franklin

2017 Recipient: Cornelia Hahn Oberlander

2016 Recipient: Grant Jones


LAF Founders’ Award

This award is conveyed to a firm, agency, or organization that demonstrates a significant commitment to preserving, creating, or enhancing landscapes over a sustained period of time. The award may be given to landscape architecture groups, but is not limited to the profession.

2018 Recipient: The Trust for Public Land

2017 Recipient: National Park Service

2016 Recipient: American Society of Landscape Architects



Both awards are made annually, with the winners announced and honored at an LAF Awards Dinner in the spring. Nominations are made by the LAF Board Emeritus Council. Final selections are made by the Board Emeritus Council and LAF Executive Committee.

2018 Award Committee Members

  • Dennis Carmichael, FASLA, Parker Rodriguez, Chair
  • Chip Crawford, FASLA, Forum Studio
  • Chris Dimond, FASLA, AICP, PWP Landscape Architecture
  • Richard Hawks, FASLA, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry
  • Len Hopper, FASLA, Weintraub Diaz Landscape Architecture
  • Ginger Murphy, ASLA, U.S. Department of Agriculture

For more information, contact Jennifer Low at jlow@lafoundation.org or 202-331-7070 x14.